5 Questions to Consider When Creating a Personal Mission Statement

Over the past year, I have been giving considerable thought to my personal mission statement. A lot of the material in both the corporate and Christian book market is helpful but more times than not divorced from a clear gospel center.

So, I was delighted when I recently read Matt Perman’s brief but helpful post on his blog (What’s Best Next) entitled 5 Questions to Consider When Creating a Personal Mission Statement.

Matt frames the issue correctly when he writes,

    “I would want to say that we should be promise-driven people rather than purpose-driven. (The promise is the gospel of Christ’s death and resurrection for us. God acts on our behalf. Therefore we can work.)…In sum, a mission statement is not the ultimate motivating purpose in our life. God’s work on our behalf in Christ is. Our purpose — and motivation for it — flows from that.”
2 Responses to 5 Questions to Consider When Creating a Personal Mission Statement

  1. Scott says:

    I was reading Phil 1 the other day and couldn’t help but think that Phil 1:19-26 was in some ways Pauls personal mission statement.

    To Live Is Christ
    Yes, and I will rejoice, 19 for I know that f through your prayers and g the help of h the Spirit of Jesus Christ this will turn out for my deliverance, 20 as it is my eager expectation and hope i that I will not be at all ashamed, but that with full j courage now as always Christ k will be honored in my body, l whether by life or by death. 21 For to me m to live is Christ, and to die is gain. 22 If I am to live in the flesh, that means fruitful labor for me. Yet which I shall choose I cannot tell. 23 n I am hard pressed between the two. My desire is o to depart and p be with Christ, for that is far better. 24 But to remain in the flesh is more necessary on your account. 25 q Convinced of this, r I know that I will remain and continue with you all, for your s progress and t joy in the faith, 26 so that in me u you may have ample cause to glory in Christ Jesus, because of my coming to you again.

    The ESV Online Study Bible has this note in it. “1:25 Paul is not merely musing on his own crisis; he is giving the Philippians a model of the SERVICE-DRIVEN life”

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 35 other followers

